Anti Sexual Harassment Committee / Internal Complaint Committee

As per the Supreme Court Judgement and guidelines issued in 1997 to provide for the effective enforcement of the basic human right of gender equality and guarantee against sexual harassment and abuse, more particularly against sexual harassment at work places, the University Grants Commission (UGC) has issued circulars since 1998, to all the Universities, advising them to establish a permanent cell and a committee and to develop guidelines to combat sexual harassment, violence against women and ragging in colleges and universities. Keeping the above guidelines in mind Sri JCBM College Sringeri has constituted committee against Sexual Harassment

Aims and Objectives of the Committee

  • To develop guidelines and norms for policies against sexual harassment
  • To develop principles and procedures to combat sexual harassment
  • To work out details for the implementation these policies
  • To prepare a detailed plan of actions, both short and long term
  • To organize gender sensitization awareness programme
  • To deal with cases of discrimination and sexual harassment in a time bound manner, aiming at ensuring support services to the victimized

What is Sexual Harassment?

Sexual harassment includes unwelcome sexually determined behavior (whether directly or by implication) such as:

  • Physical contact and advances.
  • A demand or request for sexual favours.
  • Sexually coloured remarks.
  • Showing of pornography.
  • Any other unwelcome physical, verbal or non-verbal conduct of sexual nature.
  • Eve-teasing.
  • Unsavory remarks.
  • Jokes causing or likely to cause awkwardness or embarrassment.
  • Innuendos and taunts.
  • Gender based insults or sexist remarks.
  • Unwelcome sexual overtone in any manner such as over telephone (obnoxious telephone calls) and the like.
  • Touching or brushing against any part of the body and the like.
  • Displaying of pornographic or other offensive or derogatory pictures, cartoons, pamphlets or sayings.
  • Forcible physical touch or molestation.
  • Physical confinement against one’s will and any other act likely to violate one’s privacy.

Composition of the Committee

  1. Dr.Swamy.M, Principal/ Committee Chairperson
  2. Prof. Yashoda, HOD of Sanskrit- Coordinator
  3. Dr. Anitha H.G, HOD of Kannada- Member
  4. Smt. Jyothi Kakathkar, HOD of Hindi- Member
  5. Smt. Ashwini, Dept of Mathematics - Member
  6. Smt. Kavana, Dept of Sociology - Member
  7. Smt. Pallavi, Dept of Commerce - Member
  8. Kum. Anushree Hebbar, Dept of Botany -Member

Activities of the Committee

The Anti Sexual Harassment committee has been established to provide a healthy and congenial atmosphere for all the staff members and students. The Cell creates awareness on sexual harassment redressal mechanisms through brochures, posters, and speeches about sexual harassment in the campus. The Committee has actively been involved in resolving the complaints through proper enquiry.


The Committee deals with issues relating to sexual harassment of the college. It is applicable to all students, staff and faculty. A complaint of discrimination or sexual harassment may be lodged by the victim or a third party. A written complaint may be addressed to the Coordinator of the Committee. Informal methods would be first adopted to resolve the problems amicably. If necessary, the Committee will conduct detailed enquiry. Humanistic approach will be adopted while dealing with the complaint. Safe and fearless environment will be created to speak openly about the harassment.